Valuable Information about Idaho DUI Laws and Penalties
Understanding the legal consequences of drunk driving in Idaho
At the Cox Law Firm, our attorneys are experienced, reliable and aggressive. For more than 21 years, we have helped clients in the Boise, Idaho area resolve their Idaho drunk driving matters with competent DUI defense. We know how to work with Idaho drunk driving laws.
General information about Idaho drinking and driving laws
Drinking and driving offenses are determined by measuring the amount of alcohol in your blood, known as blood alcohol content or concentration (BAC). Typically, BAC is measured by blowing into a Breathalyzer device. In Idaho, you’ll be charged with underage drunk driving if you’re under 21 years of age and your BAC is .02 percent or higher. If you are older than 21, a .08 percent BAC is the limit. If you are driving a commercial vehicle, you’ll be charged with DUI at .04 percent BAC. The Idaho Dept. of Transportation will want to suspend your driver’s license administratively if you should blow over the legal limit. There is a requirement that a request for a hearing on that suspension is required within 7 days of your arrest. If the request is not made you will not have an opportunity to contest this administrative suspension. It is imperative that you contact the Cox Law Firm immediately so that all necessary documents can be filed to protect your driving rights.
If you decline to be tested, it is likely your blood will be involuntarily withdrawn. Idaho’s implied consent law states while driving in Idaho, you have impliedly consented to be tested for alcohol consumption if an officer has a reasonable suspicion that you are under the influence. If you refuse to be tested, you may be fined and your license can be suspended for a one year period with absolutely no privileges allowed. As in the administrative procedure above a request for a hearing is required within 7 days of your arrest to contest this absolute suspension by the court. Time is of the essence in both these circumstances. Don’t hesitate in contacting the competent attorney’s at the Cox Law Firm to protect those rights.
Idaho DUI penalties and punishments
Different jurisdictions may have their own variations on drunk driving laws and penalties, but the basic Idaho DUI penalty possibilities are:
- First offense DUI – Up to $1,000 fine, six months in jail and license suspension for up to 180 days. The court will also require an alcohol evaluation and that you follow any recommendations of the evaluator.
- Second offense DUI within a 10 year period – Up to $2,000 fine, ten days to one year in jail and an absolute license suspension for one year with no privileges of any kind
- Third offense DUI within a 10 year period – Is a felony DUI - Up to $5,000 fine, 30 days' minimum jail and up to ten years in prison and a license suspension for one year minimum and up to five years with absolutely no privileges.
Impact on insurance coverage
A DUI conviction also has a significant impact on your auto insurance coverage. In some cases, you may be dropped outright by your provider. Oftentimes it will cause a large increase in your premium. A conviction can even have an impact on your family members’ insurance policies.
At the Cox Law Firm, we provide aggressive DUI defense. We’ve handled hundreds of drinking and driving cases, and have assisted many satisfied clients in reducing or eliminating the charges and any penalties of their misdemeanor or felony DUI charges.
Get help from an experienced DUI attorney
We look forward to speaking with you and helping you resolve your DUI charges so you can look to the future. Call 208-514-0018 or contact the Cox Law Firm online today to learn more about our services. Our attorneys represent clients in Ada County as well as the surrounding counties of Canyon, Elmore, Boise, Blaine, Valley, Owyhee, Washington and Adams.